Google Copy Column Preferences to the New Google Ads

Google Ads interfaceRebuilding beautiful column layouts from the old Google Ads interface can be stressful. If you’ve been put off by this before, congratulations! Google has acknowledged your pain. The tech giant now allows users of its advertising platform to copy column preferences from the classic version of Google Ads to the new Google Ads interface.

On October, 2018, Google announced its acknowledgment of feedbacks from its users requesting an easy way to copy their column preferences from the previous Google Ads interface to the latest interface.  According to the tech giant:

“We have heard reviews requesting for an easy way to copy your column preferences from the old Google Ads version to the new experience,” Google Ads team wrote on the company’s website.

Thus, for example, “if your ‘campaigns’ statistics chart always showed ‘Conversions’, ‘Cost,’ ‘Clicks’ ‘Impressions’ and ‘Cost/Conv” – with just a single click, you can copy these column preferences to the new Google Ads experience” the team said.

Some feature differences between the old and new Google Ads

  • With the new Google Ads experience, the tech giant has unplugged the users’ ability to make ‘reporting changes’–like saving a filter, which was available in the old Ads experience. Google recommends you make reporting changes using the new experience.
  • Works done in the Report Editor will be synced between the old and new experiences.
  • Google has changed some features and names in the new Ads experience.

You can read more about the differences here

How to copy column preferences from the classic version to the new Google Ads interface

Step one: Locate the tools icon in the upper right corner->preferences->columns preference

Step two:  Click ‘Copy Columns’ to start your copy column preferences

Step three:  Allow 24 hours for your preferences to update in new Google Ads.

Important things to note before choosing this option

There are few things to note before changing your column preferences. First, you will not be able to undo the option later—the change is permanent! If you choose the “Copy Columns” option, for example, you’ll be warned copying column will replace all your existing Google Ads columns.

Second, if you are logged into your master’s account, changing the column’s preferences will affect all other accounts under it. Log into individual accounts to effect the changes if you don’t want your preference setting to copy over to all your accounts.

How to determine which Google Ads experience you are using

Here’s a quick way to tell which Google Ads interface you are using:

Sing into your Google Ads account. look for this  gear icon in the upper right corner. If its there, you are in the previous AdWords experience.

Nevertheless, Google says your account, ads and campaigns will run the same way they did on the old platform.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *